What does the County Council Do?

The financial powers of the County are placed in the County Council. The Council appropriates all funds and levies all County taxes. There are seven Council members, four Council districts, with one member from each district, and three Council members elected at large.

Elkhart County Council Districts

District 1: Concord,  Osolo and Washington Township
District 2: Concord, Baugo, Cleveland Townships
District 3: Concord, Jefferson and Elkhart Township
District 4: Concord, Locke, Union, Benton, Clinton, Harrison, Jackson, Middlebury, Olive and York Townships

elkhart county council group photo 2022

Meet Our Elkhart County Council

Douglas S. Graham, District 1

Liaison to ADEC, Vibrant Communities Representative, Youth Services, MACOG, Highway and the Health Board. Dates in Office: 1/1/2019 to 12/31/2022.

Randall Yohn, District 2

Liaison to Court Services, CCAB, Park Board and Personnel Committee. Dates in Office: 1/1/2007 to 12/31/2022.

Darryl J. Riegsecker, District 3

Liaison to Affirmative Action, Redevelopment Commission, Oaklawn Board and Juvenile Detention Dates in Office: 1/1/2015 to 12/31/2022

David L. Hess, District 4

County Council Vice-President, Liaison to the County and Township Assessors and Chair of Personnel Committee Dates in Office: 1/1/2011 to 12/31/2022

Adam M. Bujalski, At Large

Liaison to EDC of Elkhart County, Emergency Management and State Legislature Dates in Office: 1/1/2021to 12/31/2024

Thomas W. Stump, At Large

County Council President, Liaison to Plan Commission, Personnel Committee, and Prosecutor Dates in Office: 1/1/2013 to 12/31/2024

Steven E. Clark, At Large

Liaison to the Sheriff, Treasurer, Commissioner’s, Solid Waste (Landfill), and the Health Board. Dates in Office 1/7/2022 to 12/31/2024