What do the County Commissioners Do?

Elkhart County is governed by a board of three county commissioners. The commissioners are elected from separate commissioner districts by vote of the county as a whole. The Board of Commissioners constitutes the legislative body of the county for ordinance purposes and is the executive branch of the County. The board is responsible for county buildings, lands and property; purchasing and authorizing payments; signing contracts; supervising and directing County departments; and performing many other governing functions.

Meet Our Elkhart County Commissioners

Bob Barnes (3)

Bob Barnes

Member, District 1 - representing townships of Concord and Washington plus liaison to Drainage Board, St. Joseph River Basin, Affirmative Action (EEOC).

Brad Rogers 2-6-2023 (2).jpg

Brad Rogers

President, District 2 - representing townships of Benton, Clinton, Elkhart, Jackson, Jefferson, Middlebury and York plus liaison to Plan Commission, Oaklawn, Community Corrections Advisory Board (CCAB), CCPC - Personnel Liaison, Public Defender Board.

Weirick (2).png

Suzanne Weirick

Vice-President, District 3 - representing townships of Baugo, Cleveland, Harrison, Locke, Olive, Osolo and Union plus liaison to MACOG, Emergency Management Board, Justice Reinvestment Advisory Committee.


The Commissioners meet at 9:00 a.m. every Monday, excluding holidays, in Room 104 of the Administrative Office Building, 117 North Second Street, Goshen, Indiana. . Links to the current year's schedule, agenda, and meeting minutes/roll call votes can be viewed by clicking the buttons below or clicking on the sidebar links.

Virtual Meeting Notice

As we continue to hold meetings electronically, please click here or the button below to access the links for virtual meetings.

VIrtual Meetings

County Commissioner's Meeting Information

The agendas, meeting minutes, and schedules for the current year can be viewed by clicking the buttons below or in the Relevant Links Menu on the side of this page (or on the upper menu on your mobile device)

Commissioners Meeting Schedule 2024 Commissioners Meeting Minutes & Roll Call - 2024 Commissioners Agendas - 2024

Office Staff

  • Jeff Taylor, County Administrator
  • Kelly Ropp, Administrative Manager
  • Monica Leatherman, Clerk
  • Amy Deters, Clerk

Get in Touch

Email: ccommissioners@elkhartcounty.com