What do the County Commissioners Do?

Elkhart County is governed by a board of three county commissioners. The commissioners are elected from separate commissioner districts by vote of the county as a whole. The Board of Commissioners constitutes the legislative body of the county for ordinance purposes and is the executive branch of the County. The board is responsible for county buildings, lands and property; purchasing and authorizing payments; signing contracts; supervising and directing County departments; and performing many other governing functions.

Meet Our Elkhart County Commissioners

Frank Luchasse

Frank Lucchese

Vice-President, District 1 - representing townships of Concord and Washington, plus liaison to CCPA — Personnel Liaison, Affirmative Action (EEOC), Plan Commission.

Mike Yoder

Mike Yoder

President, District 2 - representing townships of Benton, Clinton, Elkhart, Jackson, Jefferson, Middlebury,  and York, plus liaison to Oaklawn, and Drainage Board.


Suzanne Weirick

Member, District 3 - representing townships of Baugo, Cleveland, Harrison, Locke, Olive, Osolo and Union, plus liaison to County Drainage Board, MACOG, St. Joe Valley River Basin, Community Corrections Advisory Board (CCAB),  Emergency Management Board, and Public Defenders Advisory Board


The Commissioners meet at 9:00 a.m. the first and third Mondays of each month in Room 104 of the Administrative Office Building, 117 North Second Street, Goshen, Indiana.

Office Staff

  • Jeff Taylor, County Administrator
  • Monica Leatherman, Clerk III
  • Anita Mock, Executive Assistant

Get in Touch

Email: ccommissioners@elkhartcounty.com